When you’re not with your mom on Mother’s Day…

It’s Mother’s Day today and I have a lot of wonderful strong women in my life to be grateful for. I was inspired by Carlene’s post to write something up myself about today’s holiday.

18492547_10212904370634375_1193598247_n.jpg
My mom with my brother Jared and me, circa 2001.

This is the second consecutive Mother’s Day that I’m spending away from home, and somehow my mom keeps finding it in her heart to forgive me. That’s because she is endlessly supportive of me. Just look at how the woman responds to a simple text of me digging for praise for getting on the right bus in Thessaloniki:

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 10.49.20 AM.png
No one gives you high praise quite like your mom.

In addition to offering support, my mom has a lot of great qualities—she is creative, passionate, intelligent, ambitious, funny, strong. She is the first person I call when I’m overwhelmed, and she always knows what to say to calm me down. When I’m upset with other people, she helps me see things from their perspective and empathize with them.

She does everything with her whole heart. She wants everyone to be treated with kindness. She would do anything for me and my brother. She has taught me how to be independent, and to live courageously.

18471131_10212904370834380_78551912_n.jpg
My mom is also a badass feminist. We visited Seneca Falls in New York a couple years ago.

Mother’s Day may be a scheme to sell Hallmark cards and flowers, but I’m buying into it. Because it’s really not too much to ask to take the time out of your day once a year to remind your mother that you appreciate her.

So Mom, I appreciate you. Happy Mother’s Day. Much love always.

One thought on “When you’re not with your mom on Mother’s Day…”

Leave a Reply

