Some Chios reflections (or not)

Suma, Mike, Ellie and I are back from our whirlwind reporting trip to the Greek island of Chios, which has the most overcrowded refugee camps in the country.

A lot has happened in the past 24 hours, and I know I’m probably expected to write a blog post about it. So here’s my blog post. But I’m blogging only to say that I really, really, really do not want to blog about this. This is kind of meta: A blog post about not blogging.

If you want to read about our experience as student journalists reporting from Chios, please read this post written earlier today by Ellie. She provides a great overview of the situation in Chios, as well as an emotional account from her perspective that captures a lot of what I am feeling as well, but can’t put into words as gracefully.

I’m still processing it all and I’m kind of in shock. I’m not ready to blog about it yet, and truthfully I’m not sure if I ever will be.

But I will be publishing a news story about it later this week, so be on the lookout for that on NU Journalism Abroad.

Featured photo courtesy Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

